MCWA Current Board Members 2016-2017

MCWA Board

Mr Aleksandar Mojsovski, President
Aleksandar is a graduate student of International Studies/International Trade (majoring in Politics) and has a profound interest in community based programs. Involvement with the Macedonian community has always been one of Aleksandar’s highest priorities which have been reflected in his recent involvement in organising various events.

Ms Malina Stankovska , Vice president
Malina Stankovska has been involved in the Macedonian community for 30 years. In 1994 Malina was the co-founding member and first president of the Macedonian Welfare Workers’ Network of Victoria (MWWNV), an organisation made up of Macedonian speaking health and welfare workers.
In 2001 Malina joined the board of management of the Macedonian Community Welfare Association of the Western Region and during her term as President initiated the changes to the organisation moving from a regional to a state wide organisation, now called the Macedonian Community Welfare Association.
In 2005 she was awarded the prestigious “Victoria’s Awards for Excellence in Multicultural Affairs 2005” by the Victorian Multicultural Commission.

Ms Kristina Risteski, Secretary
Kristina is a full time carer and has over 12 years of experience in community work. She holds a Community Development Certificate and is currently working as a carer facilitator, helping those who care for clients with mental health issues at the NorthWestern Mental Health and Carers Victoria. Kristina facilitates a carers’ respite group and is on the CAG & C/CAG communities at NorthWestern Mental Health.

Mr Goran Torbakov, Treasurer
Goran has a Master degree in International Management and Finance and extensive experience in the private and government sectors. His financial management, strategic planning, project management, social inclusion and community development knowledge, experience and professionalism have been a major contribution to the Macedonian Community Welfare Association since 2007 and have been highly valued by his fellow Board of Managers, MCWA staff and the wider Community. His current work engagements are being part of the senior team of the Macedonian Government that includes: Advisor to the Prime Minister, Head of various Departments within Macedonian Government Ministries and Agencies, Chairman of the Advisory Board of the Macedonian Airport, Chairman of the Shareholding Assembly of Macedonian Telekom and President of both charitable foundations of Macedonian Telekom.

Mr Tanas Sekulovski, Board member
Tanas has worked as a labourer at Holden for 23 years. He is very passionate about improving the systems that help the Macedonian Community in Victoria. He is also the current President of the Senior Group in Ardeer.

Dr Irena Veljanova, Board member
Irena is a qualified doctor in Social Science with her doctoral thesis titled ‘Ethnicity, Health & Health Capital: The case of Macedonians in Australia currently under examination. She is also a casual academic at University of Western Sydney with four years demonstrated teaching experience across various sociology and community welfare subjects with the School of Social Sciences (2006 -2011).

Co opted Board members
Ms Katerina Ivanova Anastasova
Ms Daniela Zatarakoska
Mr Goran Popovski